Dan Hume's Blog


Testing out compositing
January 9, 2010, 11:13 pm
Filed under: 3D, Computer Graphics for Animation and Film, Maya

Well it looks like I’m not going to be able to get blast code for the explosion that I’m wanting to create. So I have decided to go for a different effect for the bullet coming out of the TV screen. I have made the TV screen look distorted and blurry so bullet comes out of the digital world, which is locked inside the TV.

To create this, I used the drizzle filter in after effects on a separate layer from the video footage. I then sized ripple layer to the size of the TV screen. It’s the best solution I could think of as a replacement for the TV screen exploding.

3D Bullet

I attempted to make a 3D bullet in Maya. I animated the bullets movement, which was a very simple key framing process. I then rendered the animation into a quicktime movie file and imported it into after effects. I haven’t added a texture to the model yet, so it doesn’t look realistic at the moment in the draft video I’ve rendered. Then the animation was composited with video footage at the very basic level. I am not feeling confident about this at all but I’m hoping with the extra week extension I’ll be able to improve this project big time as I’m not happy with how it’s looking.

Things I’m going to work on:

  • Adding some lighting to the animation so it fits in with the lighting in the video.
  • Make the bullet look smaller
  • Composite the bullet further into the video footage so it actually looks like the bullet is in the scene rather than layered on top of the video.

Here is a video of the first draft of the animation composited with the video.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

