Dan Hume's Blog


Finished Product For Computer Graphics
January 21, 2010, 10:04 pm
Filed under: 3D, Computer Graphics for Animation and Film, Maya

Ok, here is my final piece for the Computer Graphics unit.

The concept of the piece was based on Realism. I was inspired by this approach from the 3D week channel 4 hosted. It made me realize how much everything is continually changing and developing and that this 3D week is possibly a pre-curse of what’s ahead in the future for television, film and gaming. 3D has been around for some time, but it’s now becoming slightly more commercial and there is a hunger of people wanting to be physically in the action. In terms of 3D animation/graphics, media companies are obsessed with how real, everything that is computer generated, looks. So the concept is basically ‘how far are media companies prepared to go when it comes to realism’?

The bullet is a good representation of  the movement of technology. As we all know, technology is constantly moving forward in one direction at a rapid speed. It’s exactly the same like with a bullet, it shoots out of a gun at a rapid speed in one direction.

I am happy with how this has turned out actually, even though I’ve had problems along the way. One of the problems that I had was I never had the chance to use Blast Code. Blast Code is a maya plugin which allows you to create an explosion effect in maya. It was really hard to get hold of it in the time I needed it for me to actually use it. So the alternative was to use the shatter effect in After Effects, which I feel executes the effect just as well.

I have noticed a little error in this piece and that is you can see a glimpse of light coming from the torch which is resting on top of this box as the camera turns to face the T.V. It’s not the end of the world that you can the see torch, but obviously I would reshoot it again and make sure the camera turns quicker or have the lighting positioned from behind the camera… possibly.

Just to add that I did include the Drizzle effect of the TV screen, which I created at the beginning stage when I was compositing the 3D bullet into After Effects. This was my way of representing the 3 dimensional world that the bullet has broken out of.

At the beginning I found the overall computer graphics unit very daunting and I didn’t know what the hell I was going to do or how I was going to get through it. I think what I’ve done has worked out well for me and I am happy with the finished product.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very nice information and presentation. Must watch.

If you are a CG and animation professional and you need to get a bright opportunity, then your representation must be sound from every aspects.

Many thanks

Comment by Isabelle Ryan




Leave a Reply

