Dan Hume's Blog


Street Artist At Night
February 22, 2010, 10:19 pm
Filed under: Post Production Techniques

Idea Development

After thinking more into this project, I have decided I’m going to try and show what it’s like to be a street artist at work at night. Since it’s not legalized, street artist such as Banksy or Mr. Brainwash (MBW) are constantly taking risks by putting up their work in public places, without being being arrested, although I’m aware MBW has been caught a couple of times… BUT he still carries on regardless. Most of the time when they want to put some art up in a public environment, they’ll do it at a specific time at night where it’s dead, where no-one is likely to be around.

My 3D character is going to be representing a street artist in this piece. I’m going to set the scene by filming static shots of Bournemouth town at night when it’s quiet. Then I’m going to find an alley way where I’ll film the scene for my 3D character to appear. I’d like to use an alley way because they’re dark but they do have small areas of light coming from the street lamps. Where it’s light, is where I’ll film an area for my 3D character to be working.

This photo of an alleyway is how I imagined it to look. I would do a very short bit of filming in this area. Below are a couple of shots I story-boarded that I’m going to use.

The rough shading is meant to show the dark areas in each shot.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

