Dan Hume's Blog


Digital Paint
May 3, 2010, 10:57 pm
Filed under: General, Graphic Design, Photoshop

This is a very interesting take on digital painting. The methods used are not the traditional ways to create digital paintings so this is a nice alternative. The outcome is vibrant, and the whole process of creating can be a bit difficult, but fun at the same time, since you could use your own materials like custom paint splashes. I found this image really eye-catching. This style of art really appeals to me because it reminds me of street art and I’ve always been interested in Banksy’s and Mr. Brainwash’s work. I find it hard to believe that pretty much most of the work gone into the image has been created digitally. We are definitely living in the digital age!

The creator of this piece is, Jill Tovey.

“Most of my work is mixed media, I use Corel Painter, Photoshop as well as lots of different paints, scans and textures – mostly just playing until I have something I feel happy with.”

Jill mentions she used Corel Painter, which I’m guessing is the program she used to create all the paint brush textures in. Since the new release of Photoshop CS5, it now has it’s very own paint feature which allows you to create and apply different brush strokes and mix colours together, just like traditional painting.

When I was doing Art Graphics for GCSE, I remember I introduced myself to Photoshop by scanning work I had sketched out and then applying effects, then printing it off working into it again and then re-scanning back into photoshop and so on. I found that process very therapeutic.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

