Dan Hume's Blog


Kaboosh – Work Placement
May 6, 2010, 11:09 pm
Filed under: Work Placement

Day 3 (Week 1)

Ok, the third day has been done and dusted. I carried on with my video piece I’ve been working on for the past two days.  The staff have been checking on me throughout the day to see how I’ve been getting on. They seem pleased with what I’ve been producing so far. I think the overall finished piece will be used as a title sequence for the Kaboosh podcast as it’s pretty much a video piece of motion graphics. I’ve learnt a lot of new techniques in after effects today, like working with lighting and objects in a 3d space.

Above is a screenshot of the work I was doing today in After Effects for the kaboosh video I’m creating. I am currently animating the kaboosh letters, individually, using the Puppet Pin tool. This is proving to be an effective way of animating 2d layers as it gives the letters a distorted flexible look to their movement. So far, I have the letters separated from one another and individually they appear from beneath the surface and then disappear.

The trickiest part of today was making each of the Kaboosh letters separate from one another, in the logo. Since the company didn’t design the logo, they weren’t entirely sure what font was used, so I wasn’t able to re-create the each letter individually. This meant I had to open up a HQ image of the logo in Photoshop and cut around each letter to make it a separate layer. It was a fiddly and time consuming process but it was the only option I had.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

