Dan Hume's Blog


Integrating Modul8 with Ableton
December 22, 2010, 5:58 pm
Filed under: Abelton Live 8, Modul8, Performance Video

I’ve now pretty much got the audio sorted for this project and the visuals are coming together. I’m now at the stage where I need Modul8 and Ableton to talk to teach other. After some research I discovered that the IAC driver on the mac is the tool to use for this process. It’s basically the communicator, which enables you to send data from one software to another so they become connected.

The IAC driver can be found in Applications, Utilities, MIDI Setup and Show MIDI Window. When I opened the window I double clicked on the IAC Driver Icon, which brought up another window (IAC Driver Properties).

I made sure the device was online. In Ableton’s preference window, under the MIDI tab, the IAC Bus 1 Driver was now showing in the MIDI ports.

Then I went into Modul8’s preferences and clicked on the Key/Midi Mapping tab. I enabled both the Osculator and IAC Driver device.

Then this allows the midi output data from Ableton to sent to Ableton. From here, I was able to start adding the midi controls in Modul8 on my TouchOSC interface. I am using the same controls as I was in Ableton. I am linking the sounds with certain visuals and effects.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

