Dan Hume's Blog


Gantt Chart – Planning
February 26, 2011, 8:56 pm
Filed under: Professional Project

Key Points:

Gantt charts are useful tools for planning and scheduling projects. They allow you to assess how long a project should take, determine the resources needed, and lay out the order in which tasks need to be carried out. They are useful in managing the dependencies between tasks.

When a project is under way, Gantt charts are useful for monitoring its progress. You can immediately see what should have been achieved at a point in time, and can therefore take remedial action to bring the project back on course. This can be essential for the successful and profitable implementation of the project.

Here is my attempt at making a Gantt chart in Office Excel.

I’m currently heading into week 3 now. I’ve extended the time of the production to allow more time to make sure everything goes smoothly. I’m planning to do a London Shoot on the 8th March, which is week 4. This will conduct most of the shots I need for the video as it has all the locations and transport I need to film.

This week I’ll be booking my equipment and going out and doing some time lapse videos in the Bournemouth area, just as extra footage, if I can’t shoot certain things in London.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

