Dan Hume's Blog


Music/Audio for Video
March 24, 2011, 11:43 pm
Filed under: Professional Project

I’ve been looking at what audio I’m going to use for the RNID video. I know that the narrators voice is going to be heard throughout the video, so I want to make sure I can get the audio sounding professional.  I have managed to book out the Rode VideoMic for my camera, this way I can capture really professional audio. Apparatly the great thing with the rode videomic is that drowns out external noise, if you have someone talking in front of the camera; therefore you can hear the dialogue better.

I’ve been looking on youtube to see sound quality comparisons of the built in microphone on canon 550d and rode video mic.

Although, judging the sound quality between the built in mic and the rode mic, there isn’t really much difference. However, I’ll still use the rode mic as it will give a a better audio recording overall.

Below is picture of my camera mounted with the rode video microphone, which I’ve hired from the uni. I did some audio tests, but I couldn’t really tell much difference between the two filters, so I’m just going to film with the high pass filter on.

Music

I’ve also looked into music, which is something compulsory for this video. I’ve been fixated on finding a piece of audio that’s quite upbeat, but also to have a nice ambient sound as well. I heard that Moby offers royalty free tracks of his own work, to film students, independent and non-profit filmmakers.

“this portion of moby.com, ‘film music’, is for independent and non-profit filmmakers, film students, and anyone in need of free music for their independent, non-profit film, video, or short.
the music is free as long as it’s being used in a non-commercial or non-profit film, video, or short.
if you want to use it in a commercial film or short then you can apply for an easy license, with any money that’s generated being given to the humane society.”

I’ve had a listen to all the tracks available and I did come across one track that I think would work well for my project. I’ve put in a request for the track, so I’m going to have to wait and find out if I’ll be able to use it.

Update

I have received a confirmation email saying that I’d be able to use the requested track for the video!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

