Dan Hume's Blog


Editing Style
March 30, 2011, 10:05 pm
Filed under: Professional Project

I’m going for a documentary style sort look for the video. I like the editing style of Jonas Akerlund’s documentary, following Madonna’s 2004 Re-invention tour. I know there are other documentaries out there with similar editing styles as well, but I thought this was a good example of what inspired me to make the video in documentary style. I also like how some of the camera movements are used as transitions and those quick shots of flashes.

Here is a quick of video I filmed of a mate listening to his mp3 player. I basically tried to make it look as natural as possible. I’m going to use a small section of this video in the final cut. I like to include shots where the subjects are caught off guard, it just makes scenes more natural.

I don’t want to upload too much of the video, as I’m saving it all for the finished piece. But for project development, I’ll upload necessary clips showing progression.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

