Dan Hume's Blog


Photojournalism: Words about Pictures
March 30, 2011, 3:28 am
Filed under: Personal Planning Reflection and Development 2

I found this blog entitled Photojournalism. It’s been created by Dominick Tyler, a london based photographer. More specifically he’s a photojournalist, who works for editorial and commercial clients worldwide.

Photograph by: Dominick Tyler

“No one who lives in London can have a good reason for buying rubber bands. Why spend money on a resource that is so freely available to even the most short-sighted urban forager. Brightly coloured to aid detection they are strewn along pavements in any and all seasons. Once Londoners were all apocryphally aware that they were, on average, never more than 10ft from a rat, now we are also aware that the rat is probably chewing on several rubber bands.”

Photograph by: Dominick Tyler

In the article, where I found this image, he basically discusses the convergence from moving to a compact digital camera, Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1. The image above was taken with a Ricoh GR1.

“I replaced the Fuji with a Ricoh GR1, which was the other hot compact of the day that has since evolved into a near-identical digital versions. The Ricoh had aperture priority and exposure compensation dials on the top panel allowing a fair degree of manual control and an understated matt-black-ness that whispered “I’m a discerning pro, incognito”.”

I’ve just been browsing through his blog and I like his work. The more I see it, the more I want to get involved in this field of work. I’m starting to really feel I’ve found a job that I want to pursue.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

