Dan Hume's Blog


The Sound
April 6, 2011, 1:24 am
Filed under: Professional Project

After showing Phil my edited video, I’ve decided to re-shoot the narrated shots due to distracting background noise recorded using the Rode Video microphone. I am taking a different approach to the recording the sound and that’s through using a Boom Microphone.

I’m not an expert at sound so this may be a bit challenging for me to do, but I’ll get through it! I’m using the Fostex FR 2LE machine to record the sound seperately from my camera and using the Beyer 86N mic to capture the sound. Now I’m not gonna lie, this has been a bloody annoying to get the hang of, even though it’s a basic device. I did a few tests outdoors to see what it would sound like and it sounds great through headphones but unfortunately when played back, it wasn’t very loud.

Me and my housemate spent a good half hour trying to work out the best recording level to use when it comes to the proper shoot. Here is a recorded sample I made.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

