Dan Hume's Blog


Second Dialogue Re-Shoot
May 2, 2011, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Professional Project

A week before the Easter holidays, I re-shot the dialogue shots in aim to capture better sound quality. I previously recorded the dialogue shots using the Rode Videomic, as apposed to the Sennheiser Boom kit, which I used for the re-shoot. After I captured the sound off the Fostex onto my laptop, there was a lot of tidying up to. There was a high frequency hissing sound that drowned over the narrators voice and the volume was pretty low, considering I set it to the required amount. I’ve covered most of this bit on a previous blog entry.

However, as I was cutting out the best bits of audio, I came across a video clip with no sound, except the audio recording from the built in microphone on my camera. This was a major problem, which I couldn’t fix. I believe that I forgot to press the record switch on the Fostex audio device. I couldn’t think of any of way to by pass this problem as dialogue from those shots were necessary to include in the video.

Here is a short clip of the sound quality recorded off the boom microphone, after post production.

It’s definitely better in the sense that the background noise is more drowned out than from the first shoot. I’ve tried out many different effects to bring it up a notch and make it sound more stereo, than mono. However, bring up the volume effected the hissing sound slightly, which is annoying.

I have to admit I didn’t like using the Boom mic and the Fostex audio device. It felt very delicate in the sense of recording sound. If there was any slight movement from the microphone, the volume would either drop or it would pick some high frequency sounds.

I’ve done a bit of research into compact and portable ways of recording professional audio. It appears that the new Rode Videomic pro can be used as a boom mic, to a good effect. The Rode videomic appears to be quite a versatile microphone and can be attached to a monopod, which functions in the same way as a boom pole, but its much much cheaper! Although I’ve never tried this out, I’m pretty confident you won’t get any sound interference using the Rode videomic. The new Rode Mic has been designed with an anti-shock mechanism that avoids unwanted sounds to be picked up from any sudden movements, which is pretty neat!

There is also a nifty little device called the, Zoom H1. This an audio recording device that you can attach to the rode microphone, so you can record the sound separately from the camera and it allows you to bring the mic closer to the subject talking. Below is an example of how good this device is at recording audio.

In fact this device is soo good, it can actually be used a microphone itself, like it’s being demonstrated in the video.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

