Dan Hume's Blog


Glastonbury Pyramid Stage 3D Projection Mapping
July 3, 2011, 3:58 pm
Filed under: General, Uncategorized

I haven’t made a blog entry in a while so I think it’s about time I did another one. I want to make an entry to recognise some of the impressive lighting and visuals used at Glastonbury festival this year.

I thought Coldplay’s performance at Glastonbury this year was absolutely brilliant, but I want to draw more attention to the impressive visuals and lighting they used throughout their set.

I do believe this is the first time that visual projections have been mapped onto the external surface of the pyramid stage.

3D projection is any method of mapping three-dimensional points to a two-dimensional plane” (Wikipedia)

It really adds more emphasis to the show as the whole structure of the stage is being integrated into the performance. 3D mapping is a relatively simple process and yet it’s incredibly effective.

I also liked the strobe slighting at the beginning of the song. It blends in well with the smoke passing through as it looks like clouds moving in the sky, or maybe that’s just my own illusion.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

