Dan Hume's Blog


Idea for Interface
January 24, 2012, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Extended Major Project

One of the things people liked about my video were the shots that were created in the style of David Hockney. Hockney’s style has been very inspiring for me and I’ve discovered his style with still images works even better with video. I’ve been thinking of a way that it can be more engaging. They were the sort of shots that needed to have more time look at because there were many different things going on in each individual shot.

I’ve been looking at videos of the iPad for some ideas about how I can create an application and what it will look like if I choose to use Adobe’s digital publishing suite. One of the biggest concerns I’m having about using the Adobe software, is the fact it may be to restrictive for what I want to achieve. I feel the overall result will just end up looking like a digital magazine, instead of something more dynamic.

Interface Design

I’ve done a rough sketch of a Hockney styled video scene, as it would be displayed on the iPad. I want the general design of the interface to be visually simplistic. The video scene would be the main feature of the page. There are three isolated buttons, just below the video, audio, play and pause.

I’d like to combine both non-deigetic and diegetic sounds in this scene, however the user will be able to have full control of what they want to hear. The way I’ve been thinking about this particular style of  video is that it’s a piece of art. It needs to be looked at to be really appreciated. I mentioned before that when I created this style in my last video project, they weren’t shown long enough for the audience to take it all in. With this in mind, I feel as if I’m going in a direction for creating a digital art gallery. I don’t want this scene to be integrated into a tightly edited video. I just don’t think it works as well.

Another user functionality that I’d like to develop is the ability to to touch one of the clips so it becomes magnified or full screen for it to be viewed in more detail.

Panoramic Video Shot

At this current I’m not sure if this is going to be the main page of the application or if there will be other scenes of different locations imitating this style as well. I would also like to combine some 3D work and time-lapse videos as well, but I’m trying to refine this idea further to see if I can combine those different media.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

