Dan Hume's Blog


Music & Subject Development
February 12, 2012, 3:28 am
Filed under: Extended Major Project

Like in my last video, I’m going to have music playing throughout. I sometimes forget to reflect on music for inspiration when it comes to thinking about the contextual aspect of a project. I’m going to use, yet again, another Moby track. I would like to re-iterate that I’m not being lazy by using Moby in project again. I feel a firm connection to his music because it always resonates with my visual thinking. There is an element of experimentation with certain sounds in each of his songs, which I find refreshing to listen to. I enjoy the process of trying to interpret the meaning behind his songs and use that a starting point for my own project to develop upon.

After ploughing through his catalogue of material for me to request, I’ve decided to select the track, Isolate. Here is a youtube video that has the full song for people to listen to. The song comes from his 2009 debut album, Wait For Me.

Isolate

In the group tutorial last Thursday, it was suggested to me that I look at mixing different styles of music. Like in Koyaanisqatsi, where the music varied from scene to scene to exemplify the visuals. Fortunately Moby offers a range of different mixes of his songs as well, like the ambient version of Isolate.

Isolate (Ambient Mix)

After listening to this track a number of times, it’s got me thinking about the theme of the video. I’ve been looking at sustainability as my topic to document, but I feel it has lacked something. I’ve realised I don’t want to end up producing something that’s literal with hard statistics of environmental facts.

I need to keep reminding myself that I’m producing an Observational Documentary.

  • Characterised by non-intervention of film maker
  • No narrative
  • No interviews, no intervention
  • Direct slice of life events
  • Film maker is invisible.
  • Audience observes the unfolding of events in real time; long takes
  • Direct sound, recorded at the time of filming

Isolate:

1. The process or fact of isolating or being isolated.

2. Without relation to other people or things; separately.

The title of the song, Isolate, has generated this new vantage point at which I can develop the context of the topic into something more unique. I’ve thought about other words that are associated with the meaning such as, separation, segregation, remoteness, loneliness, seclusion, inaccessibility, sequestration, quarantine.

Someone once told me that everyone is cut off from the real world. I feel this statement is true because we are living in a world where we’re dependant on technology, such as mp3 players and mobile phones. Everyone is constantly connected to this technology that most of the time they’re living in a dream world. I find myself in this situation as I own an iPhone which allows me to communicate in various forms that makes human interaction unnecessary, which I think is wrong. It’s also the same when listening to music on the move as well. I find that there is this disconnection between what’s going around you and the music you are enduring.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

