Dan Hume's Blog


Research into App Making
February 14, 2012, 2:58 am
Filed under: Extended Major Project

As well as focusing on the contextual aspect for the video, I’ve been thinking about how the documentary is going to be delivered. At the beginning of this project, I’ve stated that I’d like to make an application based finished product. However, I’m not experienced in this field whether it involves html5, javascript, css etc, so I’m looking at alternative ways I could bypass a lot of intense coding.

I have been rearing towards the Adobe Digital Publishing suite as the alternative way to creating an digital publication. Now, after speaking with Phil last week, he said to investigate jQuery and using Dreamweaver to add HMTL5 content to the iPhone.

jQuery is a cross-browser JavaScript library designed to simplify the client-side scripting of HTML. It’s used by over 52% of the 10,000 most visited websites, jQuery is the most popular JavaScript library in use today.

You can now create a native mobile applications straight in Dreamweaver CS5.5. by using PhoneGap. It’s an HTML5 app platform that allows you to author native applications with web technologies and get access to APIs and app stores. PhoneGap leverages web technologies developers already know best… HTML and JavaScript.

The only disadvantage is I have to pay to sign up to Apple’s SDK. I blogged this post to give me a clear of the structure of how I would go about making an iPhone application. It’s a bit daunting as I’m still clueless of coding html5!

However…. I’m still not ruling out using Adobe’s Digital Publishing to make an app. Technically you’re just making content for the iPad in the style of a magazine. I think the way in which the user interacts is much more engaging than an app, because of the nice flow between pages. I think the digital publishing suite offers a lot of potential to generate interesting concepts with it’s user interface.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

