Dan Hume's Blog


Painting with Light
March 6, 2012, 9:00 pm
Filed under: Photography

Phil showed me this on Monday and I was really impressed by how this person created this really dynamic image.

This photographic series is my attempt to draw out the beauty and passion from everyday objects that come alive during my controlled lighting at night.

By carefully composing and lighting these real-life objects, and with the help of volunteer photographic assistants, I´m striving to interpret them as metaphors for values of character, honor, integrity and pride, exemplified by the people who work with this equipment on a regular basis.

Through my photographs I strive to share with the viewer the passions enjoyed by our fellow countrymen. Whether laborer, professional, volunteer, corporate CEO or just a guy who owns a cool, old pickup truck, we all share this American experience together.

This process could also be used as another form of documentary through the medium of photography.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Phil showed me this too!

Comment by alexjohncampbell

This is such a cool idea, and the end result is awesome. Had to say hi as I was browsing through the photography tags on WordPress and saw your blog header and instantly recognised Bournemouth beach. I grew up round the area and was surprised haha. Anyway, sorry for the pointless comment :p

Comment by Robby Cowell




Leave a Reply

