Dan Hume's Blog


iPhone Photography
March 30, 2012, 2:43 pm
Filed under: Extended Major Project

With my video almost complete, I’ve had to start thinking about the extras I’m going to produce for it such as some photography to go with the theme of the documentary. The end product of this project will be a documentary delivered in the format of a digital publication. As I’ve mentioned before I’m attempting this approach because it’s a relatively new format that will allow me to do a little bit more than just produce a video. I’m hoping to inject some form of interactivity for this user to engage with rather than just a watch a video only.

The photography aspect of the documentary will exemplify the idea of isolation but through a different medium. I’ve already looked at a few photographers for inspiration about how I’m going to approach this. I want to keep it in with the style of discreet filming as I feel i’m starting to develop a particular auteur style of filmmaking.

When I’m in a confined crowded environment I resort to filming at waist level with the phone in my hand resting on my pocket. This allows me to film whatever I want without being deterred. The image below is a random photograph I took from waist level. There are times when I can just film normally, but in a more restricted environment this new technique breaks many of the barriers.

I’ve already done research on the American photographer Duane Michals. His work makes innovative use of photo-sequences, often incorporating text to examine emotion and philosophy. I like the way you get to see how people interact with each other by showing a series of photographs, like in the images below. This is a typical photographic sequence created by Michals himself showing two men talking in a cafe. 

I really like Michals approach to his work and I feel it would work well for my project because it captures a small narrative than just a singular moment. I decided to try this out to see how well it could work.

I did two sequences both at a tube station in London because it has a clear structure for a sequence. People arriving to the platform, then waiting around, then the train arriving.

Sequence One

  

  

  

  

Sequence 2

  

  

  

  

I was thinking this could be viewed as a slideshow gallery on the iPad.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

