Dan Hume's Blog


A Poem About Isolation
April 14, 2012, 1:56 pm
Filed under: Extended Major Project

I’ve been trying to construct a layout for the publication of my documentary in a way that takes you on a little journey. At the moment it’s currently just three pages, which follow on from each other. After speaking with Phil yesterday, he suggested that I could tie up the whole project with a poem, which I thought was a really good idea. I had originally thought about using a poem called DP (Dorset Police) written by someone I know. There were some verses in his poem that conveyed this idea of isolation, but I felt it was a bit too personal to the point that it wouldn’t really fit in with my project.

Example

Confessions on a Dance floor CD Booklet

Here are some photographs taken from Madonna’s Confessions album. There are small excerpts of lyrics, which have been placed in the photos to generate a basic concept of the entire album.

  

  

I did some searching last night for poems that were about isolation. It wasn’t long until I came across this poem, which really describes the emotions of isolation in a clear way.

Isolation

Isolation is to be left out when you want to be in.

Isolation is feeling that sense of loneliness.

Isolation is feeling alone when ten thousand people surround you.

Isolation is hearing laughter in a room and silence when you walk in.

Isolation is staying away from people, afraid they won’t talk back.

Isolation is sad.

Isolation is small.

Isolation is hard to describe unless you are the person feeling it.

Isolation is quiet.

Isolation is blood pounding in your ears.

Isolation is counting how many times you get let down and eventually lose track.

Isolation is wanting to forgive but not knowing how.

Isolation is uttering a cry from the depths of your soul and waiting forever for that reply.

Isolation is not hearing an answer when you ask a question.

Isolation makes you feel worthless.

Isolation has to be the cruelest of emotions.

I despise the feeling of isolation.

I think everyone does.

By Dead Poetic

UPDATE!

Ok, I’ve managed to take the poem and incorporate it into the publication. I’m not as comfortable working using indesign so I actually worked in Photoshop to layout all the text. All the pages have been sized at 1024 by 768 pixels, for it to fit perfectly on the iPad. I’ve purposely laid the sentences as they are so that the user can get a sense of the direction they’re meant to swipe to go onto the next page.

I decided to generate some more images through the decim8 to act as the backdrops for the sort excerpts. I think the beauty of the app is that it takes away the literal context of  an image; therefore allowing a new underlining meaning to be implemented.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

