Dan Hume's Blog


A Couple of Nice short iPhone Videos
April 15, 2012, 9:18 pm
Filed under: Extended Major Project, Video

As usual. I’ve just been browsing on the iPhone Cinema channel on Vimeo and yet again. I’ve found a a couple of nice videos I wanted share today.

One of the videos have been shot in Dubai, using a Panasonic GH2GoPro HD Hero2 and the iPhone 4S. It’s been shot extremely well and at times it’s hard to distinguish the shots that were shot on the iPhone. This is pretty impressive as this proves you can mix shots between a higher end camera and the iPhone camera and it won’t look out of place.

I just had to post this because it has some really nice cinematography with a nice little narrative.

By The Film Artist

I was intrigued by the tales from the driver of the desert safari tour, one in particular about where the name ‘Dubai’ originated from. One is the Bur Dubai area and the other the Deira, there were 2 brothers ‘Do Bhai’, one lived on one side and the other on the other side, hence Dubai. True or not doesn’t matter to me, I like the idea that no matter where you live in this modern world we can all be brothers and sisters and try to live in peace and harmony rather than war and conflict.

City Symphony: Subway

For my current documentary, I’ve been doing a lot of shooting at tube/train stations, because they always have the subjects I’m wanting capture on video. I’m not particularly keen on the music, but I do like the visuals look of this video. I think for some of the shots the person who filmed this shot it discreetly as no-one appears to acknowledge his presence. I also like the fact that it’s been edited quite simply, but the shots are nicely composed; therefore it makes it visually interesting to watch. One thing I have enjoyed doing and that is cinematography. The challenge with the iPhone is it’s small sensor, which creates many restrictions when trying to create very cinematic looking shots. I think this video clearly demonstrates that composition is crucial when filming on a device that hasn’t got all the qualities of a high end camera.

By Chankenn

This is a hong kong subway scene.

shoot by iphone with 8mm vintage app.
edit by FCPX

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

