Dan Hume's Blog


Colour Grading
May 11, 2012, 3:34 pm
Filed under: Extended Major Project

For the colour grading I used Magic Bullet Looks. I saw some really great examples of what you can produce using Looks, which is why I wanted to use it myself. I had often used Magic Bullet Mojo on previous projects, but I felt they all looked same so I wanted to try and use something different and with more control. I think that colour grading is a crucial aspect of putting the final touches to a film because it can dramatically change the perception of the whole thing. Here is an example of what people have produced using this plugin.

The second video show the contrast between the ungraded and graded footage.

Technicolor is a color motion picture process invented in 1916 and improved over several decades. It was the second major process, after Britain’s Kinemacolor, and the most widely used color process in Hollywood from 1922 to 1952. Technicolor originally existed in a two-color (red and green) system. The frames exposed behind the green filter were printed on one strip of black-and-white film, and the frames exposed behind the red filter were printed on another strip. After development, each strip was toned to a colour complementary to that of the filter—red for the green-filtered images, green for the red-filtered.

Here is an example of a recent film that appears to have been graded in a similar style, which is Madonna’s film, W.E. It’s definitely a solid colour grade to add to film that has a rich sense of emotion and history within its context.

After I had edited all my clips accordingly, I then opened up Magic Bullet Looks. When opening Looks it takes you to a separate window from Premiere Pro, like I’ve shown in the screen shot below.

I’ve screen captured some shots from my documentary to show the graded and ungraded footage side by side. I first made the contrast of the shots stronger as I felt all the dark colours looked a bit weak. I then applied the 2 strip technicolor filter onto the camera selection at the bottom of the screen. I also adjusted the saturation as some shots required some dulling down as they became increasingly vibrant when using the 2 strip technicolor filter. I can see a big different in terms of viewing the video colour graded in this way as opposed to it ungraded.

There is a sense of irony with the colour grading as I’m aiming to make the video look quite old fashioned, yet I’m trying to combine that with my development of exploring new practical filmmaking techniques.

Colour Graded                                       Original Footage

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

One aspect that I’ve tried to embedd in my documentary and that is emotion. I feel colour grading the overall piece in this way will help emphasise that more.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

